Wayland Academy Announces Valedictorian And Salutatorian

(Beaver Dam) Wayland Academy announces their 2022 Valedictorian and Salutatorian. The honors are awarded by the faculty to the seniors with high academic achievement who best fulfill the school’s motto of “Knowledge and Character.” This year’s Valedictorian, Griffin Hughland, and Salutatorian, Hailey Kowing, are both from Columbus.

Hughland is president of the student council, and a conference champion and state qualifier in both cross country and track and field. Hughland’s math teacher, Olga Johnson, says of Hughland, his dedication to academics and the Wayland community is commendable.

Kowing served as president of the Art Club at Wayland and used her skills as an artist to raise money for PAVE, Dodge County’s domestic violence shelter. Justin Behm, Kowing’s art teacher and faculty mentor, says Kowing is a dedicated, hard-working student whose care and respect for others is an inspiration to those around her.

In addition, Wayland’s junior marshals are four students from the class of 2023. They are Kaden Buss of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii; Lam Ho of Ho Chi Minh, Viet Nam; Alanna Schuett of Beaver Dam; and Megan Tyranski of Beaver Dam.

Tom Boldt, Chief Executive Officer of the Boldt Company will be this year’s commencement speaker for the 2022 Commencement ceremony at Wayland Academy on Sunday, May 22, at 11am in Lindsay Auditorium.