Multiple Contested Races In Beaver Dam For Spring Election


(Beaver Dam) Beaver Dam voters are looking at several contested races on their ballots this April. There will be four pairings  for city council, where odd numbered wards are up for election.

Common Council President Robert Ballweg is facing a challenge for his Ward Seven seat from Jack Yuds.

Ward Nine Alderwoman Lisa Davidson, who currently chairs the city’s Administrative Committee, filed non-candidacy and two candidates have thrown their hats into the ring: Mike Derr and Jaclyn Shelton.

Ward Five Incumbent Alderman Mick Fischer is looking at a challenge from Betsy Ramsdale.

Doug Garczynski will face Ward Three incumbent alderman Jon Abfall.

Incumbent candidates running unopposed include David Hansen in Ward One, Kay Appenfeldt in Ward 11 and Kevin Burnett in Ward 13.

On the Beaver Dam School Board, there are five candidates vying for three open seats. Incumbents Jim Jansen, Chad Prieve and Bev Beal-Loeck are being challenged by Tony Klatt and Brad Friedl.

The filing deadline to run in the spring election was 5pm on Wednesday, January 2 and final ballot placement is contingent on verification of candidacy papers and signatures.