BDACT: 2019 Directors Sought, Kamps Scholarship Deadline

(Beaver Dam) Beaver Dam’s local theatre group is looking for interested individuals to director their 2019 performances. The Beaver Dam Area Community Theatre’s Production Committee will meet with anyone wanting to direct a musical, play or other types of acts next year. Various stipend amounts are available for directors and other show leadership positions. Directors also have the opportunity to earn up to an additional six-percent of the show profit. The meeting will be held on May 8 at 6:30pm at the community theater located at 219 North Spring Street in Beaver Dam. Those interested can download the proposal form and the show director’s contract and job checklist at Contact managing director, David Saniter, at [email protected] or call (920) 885-6891 with your intent to submit a proposal. The managing director will help with the proposal process.


The deadline to apply for a Beaver Dam Area Community Theatre scholarship is approaching. The family of Jerome Kamps has established the Jerome H. Kamps Memorial Award to be given to a graduating senior who has been actively engaged in BDACT and other school theater activities. Each year, for the next several years, one senior who is pursuing a post high school education will be chosen by the award committee to receive the $500 award. Students from the Beaver Dam High School, Wayland Academy, and area high school are eligible. Selection will be based on credit points for a variety of on-stage and back-stage responsibilities. All candidates must complete an application form listing their theater activities and write a one-page essay on why the theater is important and entrees must be submitted by May 15. Application forms are available online at and at the BDACT office on the corner of Spring and Maple Streets, side door entry. The completed application and essay must be postmarked and sent to “Kamps Award” BDACT, P.O. Box 216, Beaver Dam, WI 53916, or emailed to managing [email protected] no later than May 15, 2018. All applications will be reviewed by the award committee which will base its selection on an established point system.