42nd Assembly District Primary Is Tuesday

(Dodge County) Voters in the 42nd Assembly District will help narrow the field of candidates on Tuesday. The position became vacant following Keith Ripp’s resignation last December when the Lodi Republican was appointed as the assistant deputy secretary with the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection. In March, a Dane County Circuit Court judge sided with voters represented by a national Democratic group that argued Wisconsin law requires Governor Scott Walker to call the special elections. After initial opposition to the ruling, Walker decided not to appeal the decision and scheduled the election for June 12. The Republican candidates are Collen Locke-Murphy, Jon Plumer, Darren Schroeder and Spencer Zimmerman. The primary election winner will face Democrat Ann Groves Lloyd in the general election. The 42nd Assembly District is primarily centered in Columbia County but also includes portions of Dane, Fond du Lac, Marquette, Green Lake and Dodge counties. That includes the townships of Burnett, Calamus, Chester, Fox Lake, Trenton, Westford along with the city of Fox Lake and the village of Randolph.