Beaver Dam, Watertown & Mayville Receive WIAA Excellence Award

Beaver Dam, Watertown and Mayville High Schools were recently named 2021-22 Award of Excellence which honors schools for sportsmanship, ethics, integrity, leadership and character.

“It is an honor that Beaver Dam High School has once again been recognized by the WIAA for the Award of Excellence.  This is a direct reflection of both the tradition of leadership in our athletic department and the commitment of our coaching staff and student athletes in the areas of sportsmanship, ethics, integrity and character.” BDUSD Superintendent Mark DiStefano told ” It is something that our entire Beaver Dam family should feel very proud of and another example of how investing together on the right things can and does provide a positive return.”

The coaching staff at Watertown High School continue to display a high level of professionalism, commitment and self-reflection.  We are extremely proud of their dedication and willingness to better themselves through servant leadership.  Our coaches continue to focus on being strong communicators to those involved in each athletic program. Education based athletics in Watertown is something the school and community take great pride in. We appreciate that the WIAA continues to push, challenge and support us, as we try to make the experience for student-athletes as positive as it can be.” Watertown Associate Principal/Activities Director Jamie Koepp told “We are also excited and proud to be recognized as the first school in Wisconsin and the 11th school in the country to have earned Level 2 status within the NFHS School Honor Roll Program! NFHS offers a platform for coaches to improve in their craft as coaches through meaningful courses and we appreciate the opportunity to take part in it.  I continue to feel fortunate with the high level of support we receive from the building principal, district administration, superintendent and the board of education.”

Here’s the full press release from the WIAA

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association salutes the 39 schools that fulfilled criteria to be named recipients of the Award of Excellence in 2021-22.

The award promotes and recognizes the efforts and achievements of schools in the areas of sportsmanship, ethics, integrity, leadership and character. The recipients of the Award of Excellence, presented to high schools that have verified they have met each of the award’s criteria, are:


Beaver Dam



Divine Savior Holy Angels





Janesville Craig

Johnson Creek

Kettle Moraine Lutheran


Lake Holcombe

Lake Mills

Little Chute


Madison Memorial

Manitowoc Lutheran



Monona Grove


New Lisbon


Oak Creek


Port Washington


Sheboygan Falls

The Prairie School


Waukesha West


West Bend West

Winnebago Lutheran


Wisconsin Dells

Wisconsin Lutheran