UW System Name Announcements Include New Washington County Campus

(Washington County) The University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents has approved 11 name changes for its two-year colleges. The new names reflect the change in leadership for the two-year schools, now operating as branch campuses of the system’s four-year colleges. That also includes UW-Milwaukee’s new two-year campuses, which officials say will now be called University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee at Washington County and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee at Waukesha.  The campuses serving freshmen and sophomores became part of UW-M on July 1st.  Chancellor Mark Mone says “the addition of Waukesha and Washington County campuses to UW-Milwaukee is positive for students and the community.”  Classes begin Tuesday, September 4th at the Washington County and Waukesha campuses.  Students will see new UW-M signage and a gradual conversion from the current U-W red to UW-M’s black and gold in visual displays. Other changes include UW-Marathon County which is changing to UW-Stevens Point at Wausau; UW-Marshfield/Wood County will be called UW-Stevens Point at Marshfield; UW-Rock County is now UW-Whitewater at Rock County; and UW-Barron County is UW-Eau Claire-Barron County.




Regents approve name changes for UW System two-year campuses