Spring Election Shaping Up For Local Municipalities

(Beaver Dam) Yesterday was the deadline to file paperwork to run for office in the April election. In the city of Beaver Dam, there is a contested race for mayor. Current alderwoman Becky Glewen is challenging incumbent Mayor Tom Kennedy. The other contested race is in the city’s ninth aldermanic district. Richard Barcus will challenge incumbent Lisa Davidson. Ward 11 Alderman Jon Litscher filed non-candidacy, and Kay Appenfeldt is running for the open seat. Meanwhile, all the remaining incumbents in odd-numbered wards are running unopposed.

(Columbus) There is an open mayor’s seat in Columbus where current Mayor Kelly Crombie has filed non-candidacy. District Three Alderman Michael Thom (Tome) is running for mayor while Michael Kenney is unopposed for that District Three seat. Incumbent alderpersons Regan Hendrickson and Trina Reid are both running without opposition.

(Mayville) In Mayville, only one of three aldermen is seeking another term. Dale Toellner in District One has filed his paperwork for another term with the city clerk while District Three Alderman Mike Schmidt and District Five Alderman Lon Bartelt filed non-candidacy. Nobody has expressed interest in either seat.

(Juneau) In Juneau, nobody is running in Ward One as incumbent alderman Jason Buske filed non-candidacy. Ward Three incumbent David Gratton is seeking his first full term on the council after being appointed this summer to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Ron Drezdon. Gratton is running unopposed along with the other incumbent in Juneau, Cheryl Braun (brown) who is seeking a second term.

(Waupun) The recently-appointed mayor of Waupun is seeking her first full term in office. Mayor Julie Nickel filed the necessary paperwork with the clerk’s office. Nickel was sworn-in this past August following the early retirement of former Mayor Kyle Clark who stepped down for health reasons. Waupun Alderman Michael Johnson filed non-candidacy papers and Bobbi Vossekuil is the only person to submit paperwork for that vacant District Five seat. District One incumbent Jason Westphal and District Three incumbent Ryan Mielke are running unopposed.

(Fox Lake) In Fox Lake, there are no contested races as incumbent alderpersons John Mund, Sam Jenswold, and Pete Hartzheim are seeking re-election.

(Horicon) In Horicon, incumbent alderpersons Susan Hady, Nathan Anfinson, Forrest Frami and Donald Miller all have no challengers. Election Day is April 4.