Spring Election: City Council Races

(Dodge County) There will be races for mayor in Mayville and Horicon in the April election. Yesterday was the deadline for candidates to file paperwork to run in the spring. In Mayville, incumbent Mayor Rob Boelk is being challenged by David Koch. In Horicon, former Mayor Jim Grigg is challenging Council President Nathan Anfinson. Incumbent Steve Neitzel is not seeking re-election. There are no other contested races in Horicon but there will be a new face on the council as incumbent Carl Fausett is not seeking re-election and Harold “Buzz” Vanderhei is on the ballot in District Three. There are going to be two contested aldermanic races in the city of Beaver Dam where seats in even-numbered wards are on the April ballot. Therese Henriksen is challenging incumbent Alderwoman Mary Flaherty in Ward Two. In Ward 12, former Alderwoman Donna Maly is running against incumbent Dan Doyle. There will be one contested race on the Fox Lake Common Council. In Ward One, incumbent Tom Jahnke is being challenged by Don Zilewicz. Previous reports that John Rivera was looking to unseat incumbent Dan Ault in Ward Two were not accurate as city officials later determined that Rivera had not turned all of his paperwork in. There is one ward in Juneau where there will be no one on the ballot. The Ward Two seat has essentially been vacant since Kendra Hayden’s departure. Incumbent mayors Tom Bednarek in Fox Lake, Dan Wegener in Juneau and Julie Nickel in Waupun are running without opposition.