Several Contested Races, Referendum Questions Will Appear Tuesday’s Ballot

(Dodge County) There are several contested races on area ballots for tomorrow’s (Tuesday’s) spring general election. In addition to the special election for State Senate District 13, which includes much of our listening area, and the statewide race for State Superintendent of Public Instruction, there are several local municipal contests.  

Voters in Columbus will be choosing a new mayor between candidates Mary Arnold and JD Milburn but there are also three contested aldermanic races. In District One, Nathan Anfinson is facing Sarah MotiffIn District Two, incumbent Trina Reed is being challenged by Donna Tuttle while District Three incumbent Peter Adams is being challenged by Shelly Albright.  

In Mayville’s Fifth Ward, Joseph Riese (Reese) is facing Patrick Kinney.  

In Waupun, Rohn Bishop and Zachary Dickhut are vying for the District Five seat 

In the city of Fox Lake, Marcy Benz is challenging incumbent Sam Jenswold in Ward Two.  

In Watertown, Tom Pasch and Joel Blase are on the ballot for Aldermanic Ward One.  

All incumbent candidates in Beaver Dam’s odd-numbered wards plan on returning and will face no opposition on the ballot. The same story in Juneau and Horicon. 

In Hustisford, Laurie Kuehl is challenging Michael Grant for village president.  

There is also a race for village president in Brownsville between Timothy Kemmel and Philip Bloohm 

In Township government, incumbent Calamus Board Chairman John Kraus Jr is being challenged by Russell SchultzMeanwhile, David Zillmer is facing Carole Garczynski for Calamus Supervisor One while David Stange and Jacob Rake are vying for Supervisor Two.  

The next chairperson of the Town of Beaver Dam could be decided by write-in as longtime chair John Kuzniewicz is not on the ballot. There are also contested town supervisor races in AshippunChesterLomiraShields and Rubicon which also has a race for Treasurer.  

There is a contested school board race in Waupun, where Jodi Schultz and Jessica Standke are running for the city of Fox Lake, towns of Fox Lake and Westford seat.  

There are nine people seeking five spots on the Watertown school board 

In the Fall River School District: Keith MillerDerek JohnsrudNathan Fietz and Paul Osterhaus are competing for two open seats.  

There are also contested school board races in Herman-Neosho-RubiconRandolph and Cambria-Friesland 

Voters in the Hustisford School District are being asked to exceed revenue limits by $300-thousand-dollars for each of the next three years to help cover operational costs.  

The Cambria-Friesland School District is seeking $5-million dollars over three years for operating expenses.  

A non-binding referendum in Clyman asks voters if the township should purchase land for a new town hall.