Representatives from Columbus Area Discuss Formation of New EMS District

Representatives from the City and Townships in the Columbus area met again Monday to discuss formation of a new EMS District. The City of Columbus has already approved a two-year contract with LifeStar Ambulance to provide an upgraded paramedic level of service starting on January 1st of 2010. The Town of Fountain Prairie has recently joined the six townships already in the Columbus EMS group enlarging the emergency response area. Steve Rubert of the Town of Fountain Prairie said forming the new EMS District would save money by spreading EMS costs over a larger population. Representatives from the towns of Calamus, Columbus, Elba, Fountain Prairie, Hamden, Portland and York have been meeting with Columbus Council Member Bill Bruns to draft bylaws and inter-municipal agreement documents necessary to become an EMS District.