News – January 7, 2009

Area Races Set

Beaver Dam

There will be only two contested seats on the Beaver Dam Common Council. Alderman Aaron Onsrud submitted his signatures yesterday afternoon but potential challenger and former alderman Mic Fischer – who did file declaration of candidacy papers — did not return nomination papers for the 5th Ward seat. Ward 1 Alderman Clancy Knaup will be facing challenger Donna Fuhrman. And Ward Three Alderman Glen Link will see opposition from Kenneth Anderson. Ward Seven Alderman Robert Ballweg, Ward 11 Alderman John Litscher and Ward 13 Alderman Laine Meyer will run without opposition. Lisa Davidson is running unopposed for the 9th Ward seat currently held by Mark Born who is not running again.

Six candidates are vying for the three open seats on the Beaver Dam school board. Incumbent Marge Jorgensen will be the only incumbent on the ballot. However, former board member Gary Spielman is running again along with Robert Castro, Daniel Feuling, Erin Broome and former Fire Chief Del Yaroch.


Barring a successful write-in campaign, there will be at least one new face on the Waupun Common Council after the spring election. Ward 5 Alderman Rohn Bishop did not seek reelection, clearing the way for newcomer Michael Johnson. Ward 1 Alderman Chad Veleke is being challenged by Dale Schmidt. Ward 3 Alderman Eric Navis faces opposition from Matthew Hickman.


There is one contested race in the city of Mayville. Fifth Ward Alderwoman Marge Nitschke faces opposition from E. Jay Gering. Alderpersons Alan Voss and Dottie Hoy face no opposition. This will be the second term for Voss and the first full-term for Hoy.


There will be two contested races for the Juneau City Council. Second Ward Alderman John Schuster will face opposition from John Burgbacher while Alderwoman Joanne Link will be challenged by Daniel Schamberger in the Third Ward. First Ward Alderman Jason Buske (bus-key) will be running unopposed.

Fox Lake

All Fox Lake city alderpersons are seeking re-election and none will face opposition. Those running are First Ward Alderman John Mund, Second Ward Alderman Tom Bednarek and Third Ward Alderwoman Ann McCarthy.


In Horicon, the three returning alderman will be running unopposed in the spring election. John Forester is running again for the two-year term in the Third Ward while Ted Pyrek is running again for the one-year term in the Third Ward. Jack Flouro filed his nomination papers for the two-year term in the Second Ward. Doug Psenicka filed his non-candidacy last month and no one filed papers for his vacant First Ward seat. Clerk-Treasurer Dave Pasewald says residents will have the option of electing a write-in candidate in April’s election.

PFC Narrows Search for New Fire Chief

1/7/09 – The Beaver Dam Police and Fire Commission last night spent three hours reviewing the applications for the vacant fire chief position. Commission Chair Nancy Conley says the city received eleven applications and narrowed the field to five. Conley says the five will be interviewed on January 24.