News – April 6, 2016

Dodge County-Area Election Results


County Board


4/6/16 – There will be a few new faces on the 33-member Dodge County Board. Ed Benter defeated Julie Fleming for the District One, Fox Lake-area county board seat held by Darrell Pollesch who did not seek re-election. Ed Nelson withstood a challenge from Jerry Nies for a District Four, Beaver Dam-area seat.  In District Seven, Randy Grebel of Burnett beat-out incumbent Richard Bennett of Oak Grove. Holly Millard is lost to incumbent Rich Greshay for the board’s District Eight city of Horicon seat. Stephanie Justmann of Mayville bested Douglas Schulz of Iron Ridge for the District Nine seat being vacated by longtime Supervisor Howard Kriewald. In Mayville’s District 14, Jeremy Bartsch mounted successful a challenge against incumbent Phil Gohr who lost. In a Beaver Dam-area seat, District 33, Becky Glewen going up against incumbent Rodger Mattson.


Beaver Dam Aldermanic


There will be three new faces on the 14-member Beaver Dam Common Council. Longtime alderwoman Donna Maly lost her Ward 12 seat to challenger Dan Doyle. Sixteen-year council veteran Mick McConaghy mounted a last-minute write-in campaign last week but it was not enough to get past Becky Glewen who will be seated in Beaver Dam’s Eighth Ward. Incumbent Teresa Hiles-Olson also mounted a last-minute write-in campaign and she too was not successful losing her Ward Six seat to Ken Anderson who, like Glewen, was the only candidate on the ballot. Incumbents Mary Flaherty, Cristopher Olson, Don Neuert and Mary Morgan ran without opposition. The three incumbents on the Beaver Dam School Board – Chad Prieve, Bev Beal-Loeck and Jim Jansen – also ran without opposition.


Mayville Mayoral, Aldermanic, & School Board


There will be a few new faces in Mayville’s city government.  Rob Boelk defeated Joe Hohmann for the mayoral seat vacated by one term Mayor Bob Redeker.  Bob Smith, who previously served on the council, defeated incumbent Andy Shoemaker for his Ward Two seat.  Gene Frings bested former alderman Kenneth Neumann for the Wards Four, Seven, and Eight seat vacated by Vince Longo.  In the Mayville School Board’s Zone Four race, Shannon Wild and Norb Dornfeldt were the top two vote-getters.  They defeated Michael Amerling.


Watertown Mayoral, Columbus Council, Towns, Villages


Watertown Mayor John David successfully fought off a challenge from Jordan Turner yesterday.  Andy Traxler defeated J.D. Milburn for the District Three Aldermanic seat in the City of Columbus.  In the Town of Clyman, Tim Dornfeld defeated Dave Blank for the Supervisor Three seat.  Steve Eisenga bested Ronald Babros for the Town of Fox Lake’s Supervisor Three seat.  Mark Brieman beat Jerry Cypert in the Supervisor Four race.  In the Village of Clyman, Marty Pint and Michael Siegel beat out Jason Hensler for the two available trustee seats.  Two trustee spots were up for grabs in the Village of Lowell.  Sandy Priewe was the leading vote-getter.  Craig Kappes bested Rita Luedke by one vote for the second spot.


School Board: Fall River, Watertown, Herman-Neosho-Rubicon


A handful of contested Dodge County school board races were decided yesterday.  In Fall River, Ember Schultz and Ashley Morton won the two available seats over Wendy Corlett.  Steve Kauffeld, Ron Buchanan, and Paul Ven Den Langenberg took the three contested seats on the Watertown school board.  Fred Jandt finished fourth.  In the Herman-Neosho-Rubicon school district, Peter Gutschenritter, Denise Zuern, Tanya Burg, James Stommel, and Jacob Jaroch won the five available seats.  Michelle Cordeiro Hein finished sixth.


Some Voters Given Wrong Ballots In Beaver Dam


4/6/16 – Some voters were given the wrong ballots in Beaver Dam today. A voter tells WBEV-WXRO that she was given a ballot with the wrong county board supervisor race around 3pm. The voter registered for the first time at her polling location in the Trinity United Methodist Church which is for voters in City of Beaver Dam Aldermanic Wards One, Three and Five. The poll worker reportedly explained that white ballots were for newly-registered voters while yellow ballots were for voters whose name already appeared in the poll book. Beaver Dam Director of Administration John Somers confirms that the different colored ballots are for different county board supervisory districts and are not related to a voter’s registration status.


Somers says as part of training, poll workers are told to hand out the color ballot listed in the poll book next to a voter’s name. For voters who may have registered at the polls on Election Day and/or are not in the books, poll workers are told to consult a county board supervisory district map. He says the Wards One, Three and Five poll workers were re-educated by 3:30pm Tuesday afternoon and the error was limited to the single polling place at the church.  An estimated 500 voters cast ballots at the church by that point. Somers says there is no way of knowing exactly how many ballots were affected but the voting totals between Wards One, Three and Five appeared to be evenly distributed. He attributes the oversight to changes with the state’s new internal voting system which, starting this year, lists voters in a format different from previous elections.


Under the previous Statewide Voter Registration System, a polling place with multiple wards would have separate books for voters based on their ward. Under the new WisVote system, a polling location with multiple wards is considered one “reporting unit,” the poll books may include multiple wards and voters get their ballots at stations based on alphabetical order, not based on wards as with the previous system. The ballot mix-up in Beaver Dam appeared to only affect the uncontested county board races for Donna Maly in County Board Supervisory District 28 (which includes city aldermanic District Five) and MaryAnn Miller in District 30 (which is comprised of city aldermanic Districts One and Three). If there were any errors with the ballots, Somers says they only affect the two uncontested county board races and NOT the city aldermanic, state supreme court or presidential primary.


Dodge County Voter Turnout High For Spring Election


4/6/16 – There was a high voter turnout in Dodge County yesterday.  County Clerk Karen Gibson says 30,900 ballots were cast. That is just over 6,000 fewer than in the 2014 gubernatorial election.  Gibson says that number is strong for an April election and shows people will go to the polls if Wisconsin can play a role in determining presidential nominees.  Gibson says with nearly 49,000 registered voters in Dodge County at the start of yesterday, there was a 63-percent turnout.