News – April 20, 2022

(Horicon) With the spring general election, municipalities across the state and here in the Dodge County area have been holding their inaugural meetings. There are new mayors in Horicon, Mayville, and Waupun, all elected without competition. In Mayville, John Guinn (gwinn) was sworn-in while Waupun seated Rohn Bishop and Horicon saw Josh Maas take up the gavel.

(Juneau) The Dodge County Board selected new leadership yesterday (Tuesday). Supervisor Dave Frohling was elected as board chairman, replacing Russ Kottke who had served in that role since 2004. Kottke did not run for re-election in the spring. Supervisor Rob Boelk was voted first vice chair while Supervisor Andrew Johnson was picked as second vice chair. Joining them on Executive Committee are Supervisors Kira Sheahan-Malloy, Jenifer Hedrick, Donna Maly, and Dan Hilbert.

(Juneau) There is a vacancy on the Dodge County Board. The District 26 seat was held by Tom Nickel who did not seek re-election. Nickel did receive the most write-in votes, but declined the Waupun-area seat. The term runs through April 2024. Letters of interest should be directed to Chairman Frohling by May 3rd.

(Beaver Dam) There are three new alderpersons on the Beaver Dam Common Council stemming from three uncontested races. Bobbi Mark replaces Therese Henriksen in Aldermanic District Two. Joseph Bonnett succeeds Heidi Freeby in District Eight. And Andrew Perkins is seated in the Ward Ten seat previously held by Kara Nelson. Alderman Zach Zopp replaces Jaclyn Shelton as chair of the Administrative Committee. Alderman Jack Yuds replaces David Hanson as the chair of the city’s other major standing committee: Operations. Mike Wissell was named the new council president.

(Juneau) Dodge County Sheriff Dale Schmidt announced yesterday (Tuesday) that he is seeking a third term in office. Mark Colker of Waupun has already announced his candidacy for sheriff. A primary election is scheduled for August 9th in advance of the November election.

(Beaver Dam) A Watertown teen charged in connection to a robbery at a Beaver Dam business was given a year of jail time at his sentencing hearing yesterday (Tuesday). Eighteen-year-old Thatcher Sehrbrock (sear-brock) was also placed on probation for seven years. Eighteen-year-old Avery Bence has already been convicted for his role and is being sentenced today (Wednesday). Both entered the North University gas station in November of 2020. Bence used peppery spray on the store clerk and took several packs of cigarettes.

(Fond du Lac) Fond du Lac County authorities are asking the public’s help in locating a stolen tractor. The Kubota G5200 diesel lawn tractor that was on a Featherlite trailer was taken in December of 2021 in the city of Fond du Lac. Its serial number is 30065. Anyone with information is asked to contact the Fond du Lac County Sheriff’s Office [920-929-3390] or their anonymous tip line [920-906-4777].