News 4/5/2010

Contested Races Throughout Dodge County

4/5/10 – Tune in Tuesday night for live election coverage of contested mayoral, aldermanic and school board races in Dodge County and the surrounding area. Coverage begins at 8pm on WXRO 95.3FM and immediately following tomorrow night’s Brewers game on WBEV 1430AM.

Beaver Dam

Beaver Dam’s incumbent alderpersons face no opposition in tomorrow’s election, but a write-in candidate, Wayland Academy Senior Joe Liverseed, is challenging first-term Mayor Tom Kennedy.


Alderman Bob Smith is running for mayor and also to retain his Ward Two Aldermanic seat. Alderman Jerry Moede faces Smith in the mayoral race and Kathleen Sertich is challenging Smith for his Second Ward Seat. Robert Redeker and current Police Chief Bill Linzenmeyer Sr. face each other for the Wards Four & Seven seat currently held by Moede. In Ward One, Scott Mastalish and J. Trevor Jones are competing for the seat vacated early by Dottie Hoy.


Two-term Mayor Ron Bosak faces a challenge from veteran Alderman Dan Jahnke. Clarence “Butch” Chase is running against Daniel Schamberger to keep his Third Ward Seat. In Juneau’s Second Ward, incumbent Robert Affled faces opposition from Roxanne Buss.


Incumbent Mayor Jodi Steger faces opposition from Jay Graff. During the February primary, Alderman Jim Van Buren failed in his bid for mayor and also lost his seat on the common council. Van Buren was the low vote-getter in the three-way race for his District 6 seat. Nancy Vanderkin and Wally Riel Jr. are competing for Van Buren’s seat. Meanwhile, Second Ward Alderman Pete Kaczmarski is being challenged by Dan Gans while Fourth Ward Alderman Steve Bastian is going up against Dale Andrew.

Fox Lake

Barring a successful write-in campaign, Alderman Tom Bednarek will be seated as Mayor of Fox Lake. In the city’s Third Ward, the seat being vacated by Dan Bednarek, Dennis Link faces Jason Harmsen. Incumbent Percy Harper and former Alderman Dan Ault are both vying for a seat in the Second Ward. Jan Okrasinski is the only person seeking to fill out the remainder of the term held by the late Ann McCarthy in Ward Three.


Only one of the three incumbent alderpersons in Columbus is being challenged. Ed Parpart faces opposition from Paula Schumann.


Four incumbent alderpersons and the mayor are running again and face no opposition. All seats are for two-year terms except for the First District seat occupied by Susan Hady who replaced Doug Psenicka halfway through his term.

Four Contested Seats On Dodge County Board

4/5/10 – There could be as many as seven new faces on the 37-member body after Tuesday’s election. District One incumbent Supervisor MaryAnn Miller is being challenged by Jim Giedd. District 13 incumbent Supervisor Joe Ready faces opposition from Daniel Olejniczak. District 18

Supervisor Larry Bischoff faces opposition from Ted Engelbart. And District 22 incumbent Ed Qualmann is squaring off against Tom Schmidt Sr. In addition to Earl Anderson, there are two other Supervisors who will not be returning: Gerald “Moose” Mullin and Arnold Bashynski. Unless there is a successful write-in campaign, Darrell Pollesch will be sworn into Mullin’s Fox Lake-area seat and Ed Nelson will replace Bashynski in the Randolph-area. Mullin also chose not seek another term as mayor in Fox Lake.

No Candidates in BD Ward 6, DCB Dist 33

4/5/10 – There are at least two Dodge County-area races in Tuesday’s election where there will be no candidates listed on the ballot. One of those races is on the Dodge County Board, where no one has stepped forward to represent the Mayville-area District 33 seat currently held by Earl Anderson, who decided not to seek re-election. County Clerk Karen Gibson says voters will first get a chance to write-in a candidate. If a person would win as a write-in, they would be contacted and offered the seat. If the write-in accepted, and it is determined they live in the district, that person would be seated. If they do not want the seat, or there are no write-ins, it would be filled as a vacancy and the county board chairman would forward a name to the full county board for approval. That’s basically the same process for Beaver Dam’s Sixth Ward, where Alderman Andrew Westenmeyer chose not seek what would have been his first