Federal Disaster Declaration Approved For Several Wisconsin Counties

(Washington, DC) Presidential approval of a federal disaster declaration for Wisconsin opens the door for funding to help with the recovery from a series of storms which hit the state last summer.  Heavy rain, tornadoes, straight-line winds, flooding, and landslides did millions of dollars in damage between mid-August and mid-September.  Residents and local governments in eight central Wisconsin counties will be eligible for the federal assistance — including grants, low-cost loans and other programs to help with the recovery. The announcement includes Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. We learned earlier that Dodge County did not meet the minimum financial threshold to recoup costs for damage to public infrastructure, though assistance to private residents remains possible. Dodge County is among several counties that remain under review, according to the governor’s office, along with Adams, Columbia, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Ozaukee, Jefferson and Washington counties.