Election Rundown Updated 2:30pm Wednesday

Scott Walker has officially conceded the governor’s race to Tony Evers. That concession came just before 2 pm on Wednesday. In a statement, Walker thanked his family and those who voted for him. He also said that comments from Tuesday night about seeking a recall came before an announcement that absentee ballots had yet to be counted in Milwaukee. His campaign determined that a recount would not change the election in his favor.

Wisconsin may have a new attorney general to go along with a new governor, after Josh Kaul declared victory Wednesday morning. Unofficial vote totals put Kaul ahead of incumbent Brad Schimel by around 22,000 votes. In his victory speech, Kaul said he’ll be pulling Wisconsin from the fight against the Affordable Care Act, and to work as a watchdog for his constituents. Schimel has not conceded in the race yet, saying he’s waiting for more official vote totals before making that step. However, he says if the margin does not substantially change, he has vowed that his team will assist Kaul in making the transition as smooth as possible.

Republicans keep control of the state Senate and Assembly as the unofficial returns show Republicans will gain one Senate seat to give them a 19-14 majority. They’ll also keep control of the Assembly, where the GOP held a 64-35 majority prior to Tuesday’s election.

In State Senate District 13, Republican Scott Fitzgerald garnered 48,033 or 59-percent of the vote to withstand a challenge from Democrat Michelle Zahn who finished with 32,769 or 41-percent.

Incumbent Republican Mark Born secured 15,940 votes good for 63-percent while his opponent Democrat Elisha Barudin 9,210 for 37-percent of the vote.

Other Assembly Republican incumbents holding onto their seats include Jeremy Thiesfeldt of Fond du Lac who finished with 62-percent of the vote, Michael Schraa of Oshkosh had 63-percent and Joan Ballweg of Markesan garnered 62-percent. Republican Jon Plumer of Lodi secured the Assembly District 42 with over Democrat Ann Groves Lloyd on a 60-40 split.

Republican congressional incumbents Jim Sensenbrenner and Glenn Grothman each secured another term. Grothman taking 56-percent of the vote to his democratic challenger Dan Kohl’s 44-percent. Republican Bryan Steil is taking House Speaker Paul Ryan’s seat.

US Senator Tammy Baldwin defeated her Republican challenger Leah Vukmir with a 55 to 44-percent split.

In the Dodge County Town of Trenton, voters approved a referendum that allows for the Town Clerk and Treasurer to be appointed.

The Hartford School District adopted a $5.5-million-dollar bonding referendum. A $6.9-million-dollar referendum passed in Lake Mills. Watertown and Jefferson school district voters approved referenda to exceed spending limits while Johnson Creek voters turned down a referendum to allow ATV’s on village streets.