Election Preview: Dodge County Mayoral, Aldermanic, Village Board, Town Board, School Board and Referenda

(Madison) Tuesday is the Spring Election. On the ballot statewide will be the State Supreme Court race between Judges Brian Hagedorn and Lisa Neubauer.

(Beaver Dam) The only local race every Beaver Dam voter will see on their ballots, along voters in some surrounding townships, is for Beaver Dam School Board where there are five candidates vying for three open seats. Incumbents Jim Jansen, Chad Prieve and Bev Beal-Loeck are being challenged by Tony Klatt and Brad Friedl.

There are three pairings for Beaver Dam Common Council, where odd numbered wards are up for election. Common Council President Robert Ballweg is facing a challenge for his Ward Seven seat from Jack Yuds. Doug Garczynski is facing Ward Three incumbent alderman Jon Abfall.  Ward Five Incumbent Alderman Mick Fischer is looking at a challenge from Betsy Ramsdale.

In Ward Nine, Mike Derr and Jaclyn Shelton will both appear on the ballot though Derr has dropped out of the race leaving Shelton technically running unopposed for the seat being vacated by Lisa Davidson.

Incumbent candidates running unopposed in Beaver Dam include Dave Hansen in Ward One, Kay Appenfeldt in Ward 11 and Kevin Burnett in Ward 13.


Click here to learn more about the candidates running for races in Beaver Dam:

Spring Election – Beaver Dam Candidates


(Horicon) There will be no contested races on city councils in Juneau, Mayville, Fox Lake and Waupun where all incumbents are running without opposition. In Horicon, there is no one on the ballot in District Two.

(Watertown) Voters in Watertown will be choosing a new mayor as Emily McFarland and Fred Smith seek to replace current Mayor John David, who is prevented by city ordinance from running for a third term.



(Waupun) There are contested school board races in the Columbus, Waupun, Mayville, Dodgeland and Herman-Neosho-Rubicon school districts. On the Waupun School Board, incumbent Stephen Chene is being challenged by Lori Van Buren for a seat representing the city of Waupun.

(Columbus) In Columbus, David Fischer and Keith Loppnow are challenging incumbent Mike O’Brien for two open seats.

(Juneau) At Dodgeland, incumbent David Beal is being challenged by Bruce Haan for the city of Juneau/Town of Oak Grove seat.

(Mayville) In Mayville, three candidates are vying for two, open Zone Four City seats. Incumbents Ron Andes and Norbert Dornfeldt are running alongside Tom Kempf.

(Neosho) In the Herman-Neosho-Rubicon School District, there are two open seats with Denise Zuern, Todd Birkel and Cindy Keskinaki on the ballot.



(Rio) The Rio School District is seeking to fund operational expenses with a referendum seeking $3.4-million dollars over three years. There are also contested school board races in the Rio and Pardeeville school districts.

(Oakfield) A school funding referendum in the Oakfield School District asks voters to exceed state revenue limits for operational expenses totaling 5.3-million dollars over five years.

(Fond du Lac) In Fond du Lac, voters will see two referenda totaling $98 million in school improvements. Question one seeks up to $91.5 million to fund projects across the district while the second question asks for up to $7 million to install air conditioning at building without.

(West Bend) In West Bend, voters will see a $47-million-dollar referendum question for facilities improvements that include a new elementary school and various improvements at the East and West High Schools building.

(Sun Prairie) Sun Prairie residents are being asked for $169-million dollars in two questions for, among other things, a new high school and operating and maintenance expenses.



(Reeseville) In the Village of Reeseville, incumbent Board President Brian Miller is being challenged by Trustee Margaret Schmidt.

(Rio) There is also a race for village board president in Rio, where incumbent James Thomas Olrick is being challenged by Tyler Raley.

(Randolph) There are multiple village races where four candidates are vying for three open trustee seats. In the village of Randolph, the candidates are: Richard Nieman, Shannon Greeno, John Casey and Jaime Woreck.

(Fall River) In the Village of Fall River: Diane Hermann-Brown, Dan Birr, Mark Gould and Michael Dykstra.

(Hustisford) In the village of Hustisford: Bob Knueppel, David Vinz, Joshua Prescher and Raymond Budnick.

(Lomira) In the Village of Lomira: Gary More, Ben Priesgen, Thomas Scharschmidt Jr. and Eric Kohlmann. There are also contested village board races in Poynette and Pardeeville.



(Town of Trenton) There are several contested town board races. There is a two-way race for Town of Trenton board chairperson where longtime incumbent Russell Kottke is being challenged by Maily Kocinski. Trenton will also see contested town-wide supervisor races pitting incumbents Patrick Bird and Kristie Buwalda against Lori Schultz and Luke Lemmenes.

(Town of Ashippun) In the Town of Ashippun, James Meyer and Chris Enders are vying for the vacant board chair position while David Guckenberger and David Adkins are squaring off for the vacant Supervisor Four Seat and Tom Wasemiller is challenging William Bremer for Supervisor Two.

(Town of Oak Grove) In the Town of Oak Grove, Jeffrey Pitzlin and Jim Zahn are competing for Board Chairman.

(Town of Fox Lake) In the Town of Fox Lake, incumbent Supervisor Wayne Kok is being challenged by Jacob Paul.

(Town of Emmet) In the Town of Emmet, incumbent supervisors Richard Walter and Brent Carlson are facing David Huber and Carrie Will.

(Town of Herman) In the Town of Herman, Jeremy Pecha and Neal Ewert are running for Supervisor One.

(Town of Hubbard) In the Town of Hubbard, David Feller is being challenged by Matt Malterer.

(Town of Lebanon) In the Town of Lebanon, incumbent Pam Conway is vying against Brenda Buske.

(Town of Columbus) The Town of Columbus Treasurer race pits Cindy Miller against Kelly Paulson.

(Columbus) Multiple townships in Columbia County, and a small part of Dodge County, will see a contested race for Eastern Columbia County Joint Municipal Judge where incumbent William Breunig is facing a challenge from Karl Green.


Look for live election coverage on 95.3 WXRO beginning when the polls close tomorrow at 8pm.