Dodge County Board Selects New Leadership

(Juneau) There is new leadership on the Dodge County Board. Supervisors meet for the first time Tuesday since the spring general election which ushered in eight new members to the board. Longtime County Board Chairman Russ Kottke did not seek re-election, leading to a vote for his replacement. Supervisor David Frohling and Supervisor Rob Boelk were nominated to fill the opening.

Boelk received 14 votes while Frohling got the required 16 votes to be named chairman. He says he is excited to serve as chairman and is passionate about Dodge County. Frohling adds that he believes the board needs to get back to working together for the betterment of the county. Frohling has been on the county board for nearly 20 years and has served as first vice chair on-and-off over that period.

Supervisor Boelk was elected to replace Frohling as first vice chair. He says he is (quote) “not your average politician” and that keeping the public informed of what’s going on is important to him. Boelk says serving as the mayor of Mayville for the past six years overseeing a $9.2-million-dollar budget gives him qualifications to be first vice chair. Boelk joined the county board in 2020.

Supervisor Andrew Johnson was selected as the second vice chair, replacing Joseph Marsik who did not run again for his District Six seat. Before serving on the board, Johnson covered county matters for 11 years when he ran the Mayville newspaper which he says gave him plenty of experience. He says he has a proven record for telling the truth. Johnson adds that respect is critical, and that he respects everyone on the county board.

Frohling, Boelk, and Johnson will all serve on the county board’s Executive Committee which facilitates decision-making between board meetings. Joining them are Supervisors Kira Sheahan-Malloy, Jenifer Hedrick, Donna Maly, and Dan Hilbert.