Dodge County Board Election Update

(Juneau) Two incumbent supervisors on the Dodge County Board failed to turn in the proper paperwork for the spring election by Tuesday’s deadline and residents in the two supervisory districts were given until close of business Friday to file election documents. The two seats are District 26, which is currently held by Thomas Nickel of Waupun, and District 15 which is currently held by Harold Johnson of Brownsville. One candidate did file paperwork for Johnson’s District 15 seat. Timothy Kemmel is the only name that will appear on the April ballot. No one will be on the ballot for Nickel’s District 26 seat. Neither incumbent was eligible to submit paperwork after the deadline passed. Johnson and Nickel did not file Nominations Papers and signatures stating that they are running again nor did they file Declaration of Non-Candidacy papers stating that they would not be returning. There is one other county board seat that will not have a candidate on the ballot. Jeff Duchac of the Town of Chester did file paperwork by the deadline saying that he is not seeking re-election to his District 25, Waupun-area seat but no one stepped forward to run. As a result, both the District 25 and District 26 races will be decided by a write-in vote. We learned earlier this week that there will be only one contested race on the Dodge County Board. Evonne Boettge and Dale Macheel are vying for the District Four Beaver Dam-area seat being vacated by Ed Nelson who chose not to seek re-election.