Dodge County Board Creates Broadband Workgroup

(Juneau) The Dodge County Board has created a workgroup to look into bolstering the county’s broadband capabilities. Their goals include investigating existing and potential broadband access opportunities, evaluate obstacles for broadband infrastructure, explore county investment to secure and further enhance broadband access, among other things. Planning and Economic Development Administrator Nate Olson, who was assigned to the workgroup, says coverage is the biggest issue and that there are a lot of areas within the county that cannot get a good signal. He says this venture is about issues and opportunities. The workgroup is tasked with developing reports and recommendations that will be presented to the Dodge County Executive Committee. Other members include Supervisors Ed Benter, Jeff Duchac, Becky Glewen, David Guckenberger, Joe Marsik, the county’s IT Director Justin Reynolds and Mayville Engineering Company Director of Human Resources Nicki Johnson. The group will be disbanded following the 2018-2020 county board term.