Dodge County-Area Election Recap

State Supreme Court

(Madison) A recount is likely in the race for the open seat on the Wisconsin Supreme Court. The contest between Judge Brian Hagedorn and Judge Lisa Neubauer is too close for some media outlets to call, including the Associated Press.  Hagedorn has declared victory, after leading Neubauer 50-point-two percent to 49-point-eight percent.  Fewer than 55-hundred votes separated the candidates, enough to trigger a recount.  The winner replaces liberal Justice Shirley Abrahamson, who didn’t seek reelection.


City Aldermanic, Mayoral

(Beaver Dam) There will be a new face on both the Beaver Dam Common Council. Veteran Alderman Robert Ballweg, who is also president of the council, lost by nine votes to Jack Yuds, 133-to-124. The other two incumbents on the city council withstood challenges. Jon Abfall defeated Doug Garczynski (123-75) while Mick Fischer beat Betsy Ramsdale with three votes to spare (90-87). Jaclyn Shelton will be seated in Ward Nine replacing Lisa Davidson, who chose not to seek re-election.

(Watertown) In Waterloo, Jenifer Quimby bested Angie Stinnett for the mayor’s chair, 433-325. In Watertown, alderwoman Emily McFarland defeated Fred Smith 3651-to-2137 to replace current Mayor John David, who is prevented by city ordinance from running for a third term.  Chris Ruetten will be the new alderman in Watertown’s District Three while Eric Schmidt was elected to District Seven.


School Board

(Beaver Dam) On the Beaver Dam school board, incumbent Jim Jansen (1529) lost his seat to Tony Klatt (1972), who will be sworn-in alongside incumbents Chad Prieve (1990) and Bev Beal-Loeck (1934).

(Columbus) In Columbus, two seats were up for grabs. Incumbent Mike O’ Brien was the top vote-getter with 1,106. Keith Loppnow finished with 990 votes.

(Juneau) In the Dodgeland School District, incumbent David Beal withstood a challenge from Bruce Haan for the lone open seat. Beal tallied 667 votes while Haan had 257.

(Rubicon) There were three candidates vying for two open seats in the Herman-Neosho-Rubicon School District. Denise Zuern garnered the most votes with 707. Todd Birkel finished second with 572. Cindy Keskimaki was third with 420 votes.

(Mayville) In the Mayville, two seats in School Board Member Zone 4 were up for election. Incumbent Norb Dornfeld was reelected with 790 votes. Tom Kempf unseated incumbent Ronald Andes with 736 votes to 603.

(Waupun) In the Waupun School District, two candidates were challenging for an open school board seat. After the votes were tallied, Lori Van Buren won the position with 1,570 over incumbent Stephen Chene who received 717.

(Rio) In Rio, there were three open seats on last night’s ballot. Andrea Becker finished with the most votes at 586. Doug Shippert was in second with 459 and Beth Laufenberg had 362 votes.


School Referendum

(Oakfield) Voters passed a school funding referendum in the Oakfield School District last night. The question passed with 651 yes votes to 388 no votes and will exceed state revenue limits for operational expenses totaling 5.3-million dollars over five years.

(Rio) In Rio, voters in the school district approved to fund operational expenses with a referendum seeking $3.4-million dollars over three years. 617 voted yes while 301 voted no.

(Fond du Lac) In Fond du Lac, voters approved two referendum questions totaling $98 million in school improvements. Question one is for $91.5 million to fund projects across the district while the second question is for $7 million to install air conditioning at building without. Question one passed with 6,694 votes to 4,234 no votes. Question two passed with near similar numbers with 6,411 yes votes to 4,449 no votes.

(Sun Prairie) Sun Prairie residents approved $169-million dollars in two questions for, among other things, a new high school and operating and maintenance expenses.

(West Bend) West Bend voters rejected a $47-million-dollar plan.


Village Board

(Hustisford) ) In the Village of Hustisford, four candidates were vying three open seats. Bob Knueppel took the majority of the votes with 148. Joshua Prescher secured the second seat with 138 votes and David Vinz nabbed the third seat with 107 votes.

(Lomira) In the Village of Lomira, Eric Kohmann was elected with 241 votes. Gary More claimed 231 while Thomas Scharschmidt Jr. finished with 222 votes.

(Randolph) In the Village of Randolph, Richard Nieman was the top vote-getter with 262 votes while Jaime Woreck had 245 votes. Shannon Greeno claimed the last open seat with 216 votes.

(Reeseville) In the Village of Reeseville, the village president position was up for grabs. Incumbent Brian Miller withstood a challenge from Margaret Schmidt. Miller had 81 votes while Schmidt finished with 66.

(Fall River) In was a close race for the three open seats in the Village of Fall River. Mark Gould had 170 votes, Dan Birr had 167 votes and Michael Dykstra tallied 166 votes. Diane Hermann-Brown came last with 160 votes.


Town Board

(Trenton) On the Town of Trenton board, longtime incumbent chairman Russell Kottke withstood a challenge from Maily Kocinski, 282-126. Trenton also saw both incumbents in contested town-wide supervisor races retain their seats, Patrick Bird and Kristie Buwalda beat out Lori Schultz and Luke Lemmenes.

(Ashippun) In the Town of Ashippun, James Meyer defeated Chris Enders for the vacant board chair position while David Guckenberger lost to David Adkins for the vacant Supervisor Four Seat. Tom Wasemiller lost to incumbent William Bremer for Supervisor Two.

(Oak Grove) In the Town of Oak Grove, Jeffrey Pitzlin overcame Jim Zahn for Board Chairman.

(Fox Lake) In the Town of Fox Lake, incumbent Supervisor Wayne Kok withstood a challenge from Jacob Paul.

(Emmet) In the Town of Emmet, incumbent supervisors Richard Walter and Brent Carlson beat  David Huber and Carrie Will.

(Herman) In the Town of Herman, Neal Ewert over Jeremy Pecha for Supervisor One.

(Herman) In the Town of Hubbard, David Feller overcame a challenge from Matt Malterer.

(Lebanon) In the Town of Lebanon, incumbent Pam Conway lost her Supervisor Two seat to Brenda Buske.

(Columbus) The Town of Columbus Treasurer race Cindy Miller beat Kelly Paulson.


Eastern Columbia County Joint Municipal Judge

(Columbus) Multiple townships in Columbia County, and a small part of Dodge County, voted last night to keep the incumbent Eastern Columbia County Joint Municipal Judge. William Breunig withstood a challenge from Karl Green. Breunig tallied 2,256 votes while Green finished with 1,590.