Contestant Detained During Celebrity Cream Puff Contest


(Beaver Dam) The Celebrity Cream Puff Eating Contest Friday night at the Dodge County Fair brought a large crowd out to Radio Park. 

Distinguished Cream Puff Contest Judge Brian Pfitzinger made a controversial ruling in excluding 95X Morning Show Host Thomas Rehfeldt from competing in the Excellence In Pastry Consumption heat, saying that his previous times required him to instead compete for the Fastest of the Fair trophy against District Attorney Kurt Klomberg and Sheriff Dale Schmidt. That was unwelcome news for the sheriff who dubbed Rehfeldt a security risk and handcuffed him off-stage. That did not stop Rehfeldt, who was given his own table and cream puff, then competed – and won – while handcuffed to the offstage fence.

The Excellence In Pastry Consumption trophy went to State Senate Leader Scott Fitzgerald who took home hardware for the third time in his 24 years of cream puff competitions. Judge Pfitzinger had to make a tough call with equally close finishes from Representative Mark Born, Beaver Dam Mayor Becky Glewen and WBEV-95X Station Manager Ryan Gabel. Pfitzinger called on the crowd to decide and Radio Park gave it to Fitzgerald.

Jason Luedtke with the Leipsig 4-H won the “Three ‘H’ and One ‘C’ No Hands Allowed” trophy with the evenings fastest time of 43-seconds. Leipsig got past 4-H leaders from River Oaks 4-H, Dodge County 4-H and the Watertown Badgers along with Jane Schmidt the one and only person in the Co-Op building who makes all the cream puffs for the fair.

Persephone J McDougal, star of the Beaver Dam Area Community Theatre’s sold out main stage summer production “Annie,” wearing the signature red and white “Annie” dress from the play, secured the “WBEV-WXRO OMG YOLO PDQ-est of the Fair”  trophy. McDougal made it a hard-knock night for Beaver Dam Chamber Citizen of the Year Mary Fitzgerald, the Beaver Dam BMX and Skateboard Park’s Joann Lehman and Beaver Dam Area Orchestra Conductor Rich Zeman.

The 2014 Dodge County Fairest of the Fair Carrie Warmka took home her fourth “Sweetest of the Fair” trophy after annihilating her pastry. Warmka bested past Fairests from 2015, 2017 and 2018 along with the reigning Fairest Kennedy Ferron, Dodge Jefferson Honey Queen Holley Schwartz and Miss Beautiful You Princess Bella Nett.


Video of the Celebrity Cream Puff Eating Contest can be found here: