Columbus Council Has A New President

(Columbus) The Columbus Common Council has a new president. Alderwoman Amy Roelke will serve in the role, after the mayor cast a tiebreaking vote during their meeting this week.

Roelke originally tied with her opponent Alderwoman Sarah Motiff following a secret ballot, but Mayor Joe Hammer broke the stalemate. The council was unable to vote a new council president at its organizational meeting on April 18th after multiple rounds of voting, each one ending in a tie.

The matter was postponed to Tuesday’s meeting. With Roelke’s election, she succeeds Alderman Ian Gray who had been president for the last two terms.

Photo courtesy of the city of Columbus website