City Council Races Take Shape For April Election

(Wisconsin) There will be more uncontested municipal races in the region this spring than contested races, though several city council’s will see new faces. The city of Columbus has at least three contested races. Mayor Michael Thom is not seeking re-election and Mary Arnold and JD Milburn are vying for the mayor’s seat. In District Two, incumbent Trina Reed is being challenged by Donna Tuttle while District Three incumbent Peter Adams is being challenged by Shelly Albright. Nathan Anfinson is running in District One but because incumbent Katie Ryan failed to submit any paperwork, the deadline to file nomination papers in District One is extended to close of business this Friday.

There are expected to be two new alderpersons sworn-in on the Mayville city council as two incumbents have filed non-candidacy papers. There is no one vying for the seat being vacated by Dale Toellner in Ward One and officials anticipate the race will be filled by write-in. In Ward Five, Rachel Forster chose not to seek re-election and there are two candidates vying for the seat: Joseph Riese and Patrick Kinney. Incumbent Molly Henkel is running unopposed in Ward Three.

In Waupun, Rohn Bishop and Zachary Dickhut are vying for the District Five seat being vacated by Bobbie Vossekuil. Will Langford is running unopposed for the District Three seat currently held by Ryan Mielke. Incumbent Jason Westphal is running without opposition in District One.

In the city of Fox Lake, Marcy Benz is challenging incumbent Sam Jenswold in Ward Two. Aldermen John Mund and Pete Hartzheim are running unopposed for another term in ward’s one and three, respectively.

All incumbent candidates in Beaver Dam’s odd-numbered wards plan on returning and will face no opposition on the ballot. That includes David Hansen, Jon Abfall, Mick Fischer, Jack Yuds, Jaclyn Shelton, Kay Appenfeldt and Kevin Burnett.

The same story in Juneau, where incumbents Paul Shanks, Cheryl Braun and David Gratton are all running again without opposition. Horicon is also looking at seating the same three incumbents with Susan Hady, James Bandsma and Donald Miller all seeking another term with no challengers.