Beaver Dam Holds Inaugural Meeting, Selects Council President

(Beaver Dam) A couple new faces and changes in leadership marked Tuesday night’s inaugural meeting of the Beaver Dam Common Council. There was a contest for common council president after former head councilmen Robert Ballweg fell short in the general election. Alderman Chris Olson was elected by his peers to the leadership post over Alderwoman Mary Morgan, 8-to-5.

With his election as council president, Olson leaves behind his role as chair of the city’s Operations Committee. Alderwoman Therese Henriksen is filling the vacant chairperson’s seat on Operations, which is tasked primarily with public works matters.

Kara Nelson was named the chair of the city’s Administrative Committee, which is tasked largely with finance and personnel matters. Nelson replaces Lisa Davidson as chair of Administration.

Davidson chose not to seek re-election and was replaced in Ward Nine by Jaci Shelton, who will sit on the Administrative Committee.

Jack Yuds is the other new face on the council in Ward Seven. Yuds, who defeated Robert Ballweg, was assigned to the Operations Committee. Alderpersons in odd-numbered wards were sworn-in yesterday.

2019-2020 Committee Appointments