Area School Districts Benefit From Latest Round Of DOJ Grants

(Dodge County) Several Dodge County school districts are the latest to be awarded grants through the Wisconsin Department of Justice School Safety Grant program. Cambria-Friesland, Dodgeland, Randolph, Watertown and Saint Henry Grade School located in Watertown and are part of 62 other districts that will receive close to $5-million dollars in combined funding. Attorney General Brad Schimel, who made the announcement this week, says after the last grant is awarded nearly one million children will be safer because they attend schools that received baseline security upgrades. The grant will generally allow districts to either secure school entry zones with shatter resistant film, improve visitor screening through internal and external security cameras, update internal classroom locks, install playground security fencing or train staff on threat assessment and prevention. Grant applicants are required to partner with law enforcement agencies to ensure that proposed expenditures, visitor protocols, and school safety plans will be effective and provide students with the safest learning environment possible. Cambria-Friesland will receive just under $40-thousand dollars, Dodgeland will receive over $57-thousand, Randolph was awarded $49-thousand, Watertown will receive over $188-thousand dollars while Saint Henry Grade School located in Watertown will get $20-thousand dollars and the Campbellsport School District is slated to get $84-thosuand dollars.