2021 BDHS Athletic Hall of Fame Class Announced

Beaver Dam High School Athletic Hall of Fame Committee has announced the 2021 Athletic Hall of Fame Class.  This year’s inductees include; Mike Hayes, Bethany (Martin) Lokken, Mark Furdek, and Anne Pearson.  The Hall of Fame Ceremony will be a part of this Fall’s Homecoming game scheduled for Friday, October 8th.

Here’s a look at this year’s honorees…

Mike Hayes: 2002 BDHS Graduate; Football/Wrestling/Track; 8 Varsity Letters

2002 BDHS Male Athlete of the Year

All Conference in all 3 sports; All State in Football & Wrestling

Finished 3rd place WIAA State Wrestling as Heavyweight class

2007 UW-Stevens Point graduate; Football/Wrestling

All WIAC Conference football and wrestling

2x NCAA All-American in wrestling

2019 Univ of Iowa Medical School; currently resides and works in Texas


Bethany (Martin) Lokken: 2005 BDHS Graduate; Volleyball, Basketball, Softball;

2005 BDHS Female Athlete of the Year

All Conference, All State in volleyball

All Conference in Basketball and Softball

2009 Gardner-Webb University graduate; Volleyball

All Conference volleyball

2009-2011: Assistant Volleyball Coach at Central Michigan University

2011-2016: Assistant Volleyball Coach at Gardner-Webb University

2016- present: Assistant Volleyball Coach at University of Toledo


Mark Furdek: 1973-2003: Coach; Football, Track

1973-1996: Assistant Coach Football

1997-2003: Head Football Coach

2x WIAA Playoff qualifiers

*Founder of Beaver Dam Youth Football organization

1977-1984: Head Track & Field Coach

Wisconsin Little Ten Conference Champions 1983 & 1984

Coach multiple Conference champions and

WIAA State qualifiers and place winners

-2005 BDUSD High School Teacher of the Year

-Graduate of Cudahy HS; and UW-Eau Claire; played 4 years football at UWEC


Anne Pearson- 1976-2021: Beaver Dam HS Athletics Administrative Assistant (45 years)

1976 BDHS Graduate


If you have a question about this story or have an idea for a future local sports story, please email Wade Bates at [email protected]