Waupun School District Awarded School Safety Grant Funding

(Waupun) The Waupun School District along with 13 other schools have been awarded grants through the Wisconsin Department of Justice School Safety Grant program. The combined school districts will receive over $1.7-million to spend on building safety improvements as well as training for faculty and staff. Waupun will receive just under $100,000. Attorney General Brad Schimel, who made the announcement Thursday, says school officials and law enforcement share the responsibility to keep kids safe when they leave home every day. He added that the grant funds will establish meaningful ways to improve school safety.

The focus areas the grant dollars will target include securing school entry zones with shatter resistant film, improving visitor screening through internal and external security cameras, updating internal classroom locks, installing playground security fencing and training for all staff on threat assessment and prevention. Dodge County Sheriff Dale Schmidt says making our schools less accessible to those who would do harm to children while continuing to make our schools a place youth are able to learn and feel safe is of paramount importance. Grant applicants are required to partner with law enforcement agencies to ensure that proposed expenditures, visitor protocols, and school safety plans will be effective and provide students with the safest learning environment possible. 

The other districts include Appleton Area School District, $767,207; D.C. Everest Area School District, $239,975; Unified School District of De Pere, $62,200; Howards Grove School District, $66,757; Lena School District, $61,720; Menasha Joint School District, $164,600; Mishicot School District, $63,090; Muskego-Norway School District, $33,659; Phelps School District, $23,107; Saint Peter Catholic School, $20,000; Sturgeon Bay School District, $103,930; Winter School District, $62,385; Waupaca Christian Academy, $20,000.