More Dodge County Schools Receive DOJ Safety Funding

(Dodge County) Several area school districts are the latest to be awarded grants through the Wisconsin Department of Justice. Public and private schools in Horicon, Watertown, Pardeeville, Eden and Green Lake County are among 60 schools splitting $5.5-million dollars in School Safety grants. Attorney General Brad Schimel, who made the announcement Thursday, says after the last grant is awarded nearly one million children will be safer because they attend schools that received baseline security upgrades. The grant will generally allow districts to either secure school entry zones with shatter resistant film, improve visitor screening through internal and external security cameras, update internal classroom locks, install playground security fencing or train staff on threat assessment and prevention. Grant applicants are required to partner with law enforcement agencies to ensure that proposed expenditures, visitor protocols, and school safety plans will be effective and provide students with the safest learning environment possible. St. Stephen Lutheran School in Horicon is getting $14-thousand dollars; Shepherd of the Hills Catholic School in Eden is in-line to receive $21-thousand dollars; the Pardeeville School District is being awarded $24-thousand dollars; Maranatha Baptist Academy in Watertown will get $11-thousand dollars and the Green Lake County School District is slated to pick-up $40-thousand dollars.